Everything’s Coming up Rosy!

I have found a rose amongst the thorns! Deciding to take a little dining adventure, I traversed a far (well just over the NY State border into Connecticut) to frequent a highly recommended watering hole, Rosy Tomorrow’s. Rosy’s is a family owned and operated business. The building incorporated the design of the first railroad station in Connecticut and has been a staple eatery in Danbury since 1980. As soon as I pulled into the parking lot I knew it was going to be a good experience. The bright red neon sign beckoned warmly to come in, sit at the bar and just enjoy.
The eclectic décor, historic relics from the Great Danbury Fair and attentive bartender kept me smiling the entire evening. The bar is actually a converter caboose and there is an electric train that runs on a track between the first and second floor. They use local ingredients and have daily menus and themes that allow the customers to enjoy seasonal foods. A musician sang on a suspended platform strumming his guitar playing everything from Bruce Springsteen to Cat Stevens and smiled warmly in gratitude when applauded.
A plate of Buffalo Calamari appeared in front of me and I was only too happy to enjoy every last tube & tentacle! Washing it down with a Blue Moon beer my senses (& lips) were tingling with excitement. The bartender, Patrick, appeared, removed the remains and asked for my dinner order. I needed some time to digest after that gastronomical extravaganza so he simply brought me another Blue Moon and winked. After half a beer and a pleasant conversation with the couple to my right I felt that there was a pocket of space in my tummy and was ready to place my order. The ever vigilant Patrick caught my eye, I nodded and he entered my order into the computer. In no time at all I was presented with a beautiful dish. Coconut encrusted basa with mango salsa over perfectly steamed rice and sautéed asparagus. I had never had basa fish and now that I have I feel I will be searching for it high & low!
A basa fish is a type of catfish found in southeast Asia, mainly in Vietnam. The fish is valued for its appeal as a food source, especially in mass markets elsewhere in the world, including the United States. Most basa fish farmed in Vietnam are done so by local farmers along the Mekong River. They are raised in pens that use the natural flow from the river to remove any impurities that may build up over time. Known for its mild taste and white, flaky meat, the basa fish is beginning to challenge other sorts of catfish around the world as the preferred food catfish. Most feel the basa has a “cleaner” taste than most other forms of farm-raised fish, because of the new water that is constantly flowing in to their pens.
It is important to remember that not all catfish labeled as basa fish are true representatives of the species. In fact, most of them are a different species of Asian catfish called tra. The bottom line is that if you are buying imported catfish for less than $5 Dollars per pound, then it is likely not a true basa fish, not matter what the label says. But I digress….back to my meal.
The light scent of coconut and the crunch over the meaty white flesh of the basa was intoxicating. Every bite was sweet, savory & fulfilling. I was reminded of the macaroon cookies my mother makes every year for the holidays. Then I thought that perhaps I could create a variation of this dish by cutting the basa into chunks, marinating it in a condensed milk, coconut and chopped mango concoction and make basa macaroons. I’ll have to be careful to keep them separate from Mom’s cookies…she would be MOST displeased biting into one of those!
All in all, a successful adventure. I can’t wait to go back! http://www.rosytomorrows.com/

Leave a Reply

